OdishaPlus Bureau

23 July marks the National Broadcasting Day. Back in 1927. On this day the Indian Broadcasting Company started radio broadcasting from Bombay station. The Radio Club of Mumbai started broadcasting programmes in July 23, 1927.  According to an agreement of 23 July 1927, the private Indian Broadcasting Company LTD (IBC) was authorized to operate two radio stations; the Mumbai station began on 23 July 1927, and the Calcutta station followed on 26 August 1927.

On April 1930, the government took over the broadcasting facilities, beginning the Indian State Broadcasting Service (ISBS). This year was on an experimental basis but was made permanent in May 1932. The ISBS was renamed All India Radio on 8 June 1936.

At present, in terms of the number of languages of broadcast, the spectrum of socio-economic and cultural diversity it serves, AIR is one of the largest broadcasting organisations in the world. Under AIR, 414 stations are located across the country, reaching nearly 92% of the country’s area and 99.19% of the total population. AIR broadcasts programmes in 23 languages and 146 dialects.

On the occasion, Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar wished the people. He said, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has chosen radio for communication with the public every month because of his belief that radio is the only tool that has become a medium of entertainment along with news everywhere in the country.

In a tweet, Mr Javadekar said, the government is going to make a new beginning. He said, one station can be replaced by four new stations and through the new technology AIR service will reach more people through Medium wave (MW) and Frequency modulation (FM). In addition, Prasar Bharati Chairman A Surya Prakash wished the listeners of All India Radio on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here