OdishaPlus Bureau

The five-day long celebration of 26th OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival concluded on Wednesday. The festival was streamed live on the Srjan GKCMON Facebook page and YouTube channel from September 5 to 9. This year, Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2020 was conferred on veteran cinematographer Raj Gopal Mishra for his contribution to the Odia cinema. On the concluding evening Hon’ble Governor Prof. Ganeshi Lal presented the award.

Raj Gopal Mishra receiving 26th GKCM Award

The Hon’ble Governor also presented the Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Prativa Samman 2020 to Pravat Kumar Swain for Odissi dance and Himansu Sekhar Swain for his commitment to the Odissi music.

Pravata Kumar Swain receiving GKCM YPS 2020
Himansu Sekhar Swain receiving GKCM YPS 2020

The entire award ceremony was conducted while adhering to the mandated COVID-19 safety guidelines and maintaining the required social distancing norms. The programme also featured two short video presentations of the 60 Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Awardees over 25 years, and the Yuva Pratibha Samman recipients over the years.

On the final evening, Srjan presented “Anweshanaa – In search of excellence”, a bouquet of neo-classical choreographs in Odissi dance, conceptualized, and choreographed by Guru Ratikant Mohapatra.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here